Grateful for the familiar

I was drawn back into the infusion world this week. Not my preferred afternoon out, but still a time of lift. (Deets below about this non chemo detour) Returning to the space and memories of four years ago was a bracing step into a familiar portal—jarring, nerve-racking, memory-laden,and yes, even a bit comforting.

The gift of a familiar nurse warmed me more than the heated blanket. Hearing a known voice, remembering a comforting laugh, being reminded of your years of expertise, is treasure. Seeing the same, hard-working, compassionate faces was yet another reminder of the steady and ongoing work of healing all around us. Such a strong heartbeat. To everyone giving what they have, to whatever labor of love life has called you into, I pray that continues to you fill you.

As I looked at those around me in their own chairs, I wondered what their work and passions were. What and whom might they be missing? Under their masks, I still heard kindness, smiles through pain, honesty, and connections to strangers close by. To all who steady on, or who desperately wish they could, I hope there is appreciation in your day. For the calming work of the staff in that place, strength for the journey.

[in mid-March, I began struggling to type or write with my right hand. It is unsettling to have one’s right hand startle you by moving by your shoulder unexpectedly or missing a light switch by an inch. Virtual doctor visits and an MRI led us to a series of four staggered infusion treatments. The goal is to settle the area of my brain that has had past treatments and experiences swelling. Seeing slight signs of improvement and we are hopeful. Reliant on voice-texting and patience around typos.😀]

19 thoughts on “Grateful for the familiar

  1. Thinking of you, Sarah, and sending prayers and hugs! Your writing, as usual, is so calming.
    You continue to model grace and courage. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too find comfort in your posts. They remind me of the importance of the familiar, especially when navigating through previously unchartered waters like cancer or brain hemorrhages. Today’s post allowed memories of occupational and physical therapists to appear so that I could silently thank them once again. By the way, I’ve been typing with one hand since April 2011, as my left hand continues to prove too mischievous, like a naughty two year old. Part of my “new normal,” though I’m sure my students have been startled to see one hand cover the entire keyboard.

    PLEASE KEEP POSTING!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Liv. I so appreciate your experience and stories. And wow, typing with one hand since 2011 amazes me and encourages me. So thankful you have found ways to make that work as you keep thriving, living, teaching, giving.❤️

      Like

  3. You are strong and always able to find peace. I strive to find that in each day. Sending love and as walkways, you are in my prayers.

    Like

  4. So good to hear from you. And to be encouraged by you. Don’t be shy about dictating:: typing is for wimps!! :—)🙏ing for your healing sister!
    Your friend in Michigan and fellow Renovare alum,
    Hal Welch

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love how your heart always finds gratitude in the midst of uncertainty Sarah… thank you for sharing your journey with us- so inspiring.

    Like

  6. Your writing continues to refresh the soul…even when it’s a topic, like treatments, we would love to have you never write about again! ❤️ Prayers continue! And love too!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You are one of the strongest, steadiest people that I know—all because you have Jesus walking beside you! Of course we all have Jesus walking beside us, but many of us turn our heads the other way. I believe You, Sarah, turn your head toward Jesus, and accept his comfort and support. And we will continue to pray.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Am sharing this with Michelle… we will continue our prayers, dear Sarah!!!! Stay strong and keep the FAITH… we know you will… 🙏♥️🙏♥️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment