Light

When I reflect on 9/11, when I remember what helped me that week, when I hear stories new to me of heroes and helpers and humility and hospitality, I am reminded to reread “Light at Ground Zero.”

A beautiful collection of Scripture, prayers, and photographs

When Erika was in high school, I got to chaperone the WHS choir trip to New York City. Hearing their voices in St. Paul’s Chapel, which remained standing less than 100 yards from the World Trade Center site, was sobering, moving, tear- and hope-filled. To be in this space, which housed rescue workers for months, was a profound time on holy ground. So many people made this a space of relief and refuge, of respite and nourishment. It is such light and hope I want to never forget. May each of us find renewed energy for selflessness, unity around the greater good, and care for the broken. God help us be the light we want to be.

3 thoughts on “Light

Leave a comment