TMI 1

I have a treatment plan. Many people, especially those who’ve been down this road, have commented that I will feel less anxiety when a plan is in place, and I am so thankful to the many encouragers who’ve already been so generous with their stories, their experiences, prayers, meals, etc. Wow. Graced with amazing support.

Here’s the TMI . . . the right side is stage 1a and the shorthand info is ER + / Her2- The left side is stage IIb but is ER – / Her2+

Because a left lymph node also tested positive for cancer and the margins were not clear, I’ll begin with chemo treatments January 8. Every three weeks for 6 cycles, then continuing on for the remainder of a year with herceptin alone.

A CT scan and genetic testing will help us determine whether additional surgery may be needed after chemo. There may be radiation after the initial 6 cycles of chemo, depending on whether future surgeries are scheduled or not.

Learning a new vocabulary and even attending a chemo class this week. Feeling grateful and excited* to have chemo begin after Christmas, after New Year’s, after more healing time, and after the kids’ college break. (*excited about the after part. Less freaked out about the rest . . .)

 

5 thoughts on “TMI 1

  1. So glad to hear you are feeling so positive. We missed you at the luncheon this morning but sent many prayers your way. Thank you for taking the time and energy to post in your blog! Enjoy your family and especially your sister visiting – what a wonderful gift. Blessings and hugs sent your way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was thinking about you this morning. I had a thought aimed at the Heavens and guess what happened? It thundered and then my went out for about 2 minutes. I am not kidding. I guess I was being told to mind my manners and that many others are thinking of you too. 😉

    Like

  3. Sarah glad to hear you have a plan. Having gone through this with my mom, I know once she had a plan in place, she was much more at ease. It sounds very early, which is great! Please please message me if you need anything. You are in our prayers daily, I know you got this! While a long road, you will be on the other side of it before you know it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment